Blueberries & Cream Tart


This is one of my standard go-to recipes and is always big hit whenever I take it to pot-lucks. No one believes that it only has a handful of easy to find ingredients, takes about ten minutes to make and can be made a day or two in advance. It’s also very versatile. I’ve used blueberries here, but other berries may be used, or omitted altogether (raspberries are particularly good).

The beauty of this recipe is that no cooking is required. The reaction of the lemon juice with the condensed sweetened milk results in a luscious, creamy filling that sets up every time without fail. Make certain you purchase sweetened condensed milk, plain evaporated milk is much different and will not work here.

I like the crust recipe described below, but if you must, a store-bought graham cracker crust will do just fine. The filling makes enough for an 8-9 inch pie or tart.

Blueberries and Cream Tart
Crust:
1 cup chopped nuts (walnuts, pecans, etc)
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
½ stick melted butter

Filling:
1 can sweetened condensed milk
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
½ cup lemon juice
8-11 ounces fresh blueberries

Place the graham cracker crumbs and chopped nuts in a bowl and add the melted butter. Combine until all the crumbs are coated with butter then press evenly in the bottom of a spring form pan, pie pan or tart pan using the bottom of a small glass. No baking is needed.

To make the filling, cream the cream cheese with an electric mixer until smooth and lump free. Add the can of sweetened milk and combine well, making sure there are no lumps of cream cheese visible.

Stir in the lemon juice and blend well before adding the berries. Immediately pour into your prepared crust. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

Serves 6-8

Starting on Thursday, January 26, check out other potluck dishes fellow gojee contributors shared. Go to gojee.com and enter “gojeepotluck” into I Crave. You can also follow #gojeepotluck on Twitter.

  1. Riquisimo este platillo.Gracias!

    • Min
    • July 7th, 2012

    Thank you very much for sharing the recipe! Lovely and simple to make. I wonder if the tart will melt or deform after being taken out of the fridge for long. Should I keep it in the fridge immediately after serving? Thanks~:)

    • I have had these out for an hour or two and didn’t have any melting. The acid in the lemon juice reacts with the milk to firm it .It does stay firm and easy to slice, unlike a gelatin thickened filling that would tend to liquefy if it got too warm.This is a dairy product, so for safety sake, you’ll want to keep it cool when storing it.

        • Min
        • July 7th, 2012

        Wonderful! I gathered all the ingredients and just made one tonight. It already tastes so good before frozen. Cannot wait for the turnout tomorrow~ Thanks again!

    • Melly
    • February 16th, 2012

    My mother used to make this as a Banana Breeze pie – sliced bananas tossed in lemon juice across the bottom of a crushed-corn-flake/butter/sugar crust, and then again across the top of the pie. I’ve made it multiple times for 4th of July with bananas, strawberry slices, and blueberries – two recipes fit well into a 9×13 pan decorated like a flag!

    I think my mom originally got the recipe off the back of a can of Eagle Brand SCM –

    • That’s what I love about this…any fruit in season can be used. I also like that I can keep the ingredients on hand in my pantry in case I need to throw a quickie dessert together. It’s so fast and failproof.

  2. Found you on Pinterest! I’m in Vegas (Summerlin) as well🙂

    My kids are all allergic to Gluten, so I’m going to make this for them using gluten free graham cracker crumbs. They are going to be so excited!

  3. Perfect Timing! I needed a make ahead treat for a friends late night birthday supper. I’ll be bringing one of these along!

  4. OMG – I think I have had a similar recipe with canned mandarin oranges but those fresh blueberries are the darnest thing I know… looks like Martian’s eyes… know this is one sweet, tasty dessert and gonna be on my table soon, saw fresh blueberries just today… HNY my friend

    • Charlie
    • January 5th, 2012

    This looks wonderful, but the richness would set my teeth on edge.

    I wonder if I mixed ricotta and marscapone together in place of the cream cheese……..

    mmm…….. worth a try a think.

    Thanks for sharing

    Charlie

    • Mascarpone is even richer than cream cheese and ricotta might be too watery unless you drain it very well overnight. Ricotta doesn’t have the smooth mouthfeel that comes from the cream cheese. I suspect your dental issue would be more of a problem from the sweetness in the condensed milk…if you try this with the substitutions, let us know.

  5. This looks amazing! Can’t wait for all the berries to be back in season so I can do this with locally grown berries….Makes me crave spring time:) Thanks for sharing

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

