Five Guys



Move over Fatburger and In-N-Out, we have a new best friend. More like five new best friends. And they’re making the best hamburgers for a chain restaurant anywhere in Las Vegas. Notice I said “chain”. Hubert Keller’s Burger Bar at Mandalay Bay has nothing to worry about.

To be great, something as simple as a hamburger only needs a few basics…good buns, good beef, and a good old-fashioned flat top grill. I’m not sure why that’s so difficult for other burger joints, but Five Guys has it down.

Their buns are soft, yet substantial, the meat is fresh, never frozen, and the generous patties are grilled to unquestionable perfection—crisp around the edges and juicy (not greasy) in the middle.

Five Guys gets extra credit for their generous portions of hand-cut fries cooked in peanut oil. Unfortunately, due to the nature of peanut oil, the twice-fried fries are a tad greasy and have an odd burnt flavor. They quickly lose any crispness they had when they came out of the fryer. Many folks love that type of fry, but we’re still partial to the crisp, golden fries from In-N-Out/


We’ve counted three current Five Guys locations in Vegas. If you haven’t tried a Five Guys burger, you are in for a real treat. And just order the regular size fries. The portions are enormous. .Menu and website here.

    • Sharon
    • January 10th, 2012

    I live in North Carolina and we have Five Guys here. I love their burgers and eat there frequently. I would like to know about DC’s comment too. Maybe the competition.

  1. I just had my first, and it wont be my last! I am hooked hooked hooked love the burger with peppers and mushrooms. angus beef not frozen in love! I HATE the fries!
    I am with you love the crispy… I miss ya` were u been???? busy as usual I am sure! take care love this post!

    • DC
    • August 28th, 2011

    Been to Five Guys twice. Both times were barely average.

  2. that is a fine burger – double goodness… don’t think we have any thing that good over here….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

