Roasted Artichokes and Parsnips


If you’re bored with the usual vegetables you serve with a Sunday roast, this unlikely combo will perk you up.

Parsnips, those sweet, white, carrot-like roots with a parsley flavor are particularly good roasted. The roasting process really concentrates their natural sweetness. Artichokes also have a natural sweetness, and the two vegetables make a very nice duo when roasted together with butter and a few whole garlic cloves.

The work involved in prepping and eating artichokes often puts many folks off, but in this recipe, the artichokes are quickly quartered and cleaned up which makes pulling that fuzzy inner bit quick work.

This duo is excellent served with any roasted meat or poultry.

Roasted Artichokes and Parsnips

2 jumbo artichokes
4-5 parsnips
4 whole cloves garlic
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
¼ cup sherry or white wine
¼ cup strong chicken stock (cubes work fine here)

Place the butter and oil in a baking pan.

To prepare the artichokes, pull the first 5-6 rows of petals off and discard. Snip the tips of the remaining petals off with scissors to cut any spines off. Cut the top off and cut artichoke into quarters and pull out the fuzzy, purple middle bit. With a paring knife, trim the stems to remove the outer tough portion. The artichoke may begin to turn brown at this point, but don’t worry about it. In this recipe they roast until brown anyway, so it doesn’t matter here.

To prepare the parsnips, peel as you would for carrots and cut into two. If your parsnips are fat, cut into quarters.

Peel the garlic cloves, but leave whole. Arrange the artichokes, parsnips and garlic into the baking pan and roll around to coat in the oil.

Add half of the wine and stock. Place everything in the oven and after about 20 minutes toss everything to coat with the liquid in the pan. Add the rest of the wine and liquid when the first addition cooks away. Roast until nicely browned and tender.

Roasting time will be about 45-60 minutes at 350 to 375 degrees. Roasting time and temperature are flexible and can be adjusted to roast simultaneously with your roast.

Serves 4

  1. Sounds like an interesting combo that I’ll surely have to try! We’re hosting an online seasonal potluck and March is artichoke month. If you’d like to link up your recipe, we’d love to have you http://bit.ly/zRfNjo

    • Charlie
    • April 11th, 2011

    Thank you!

    I’m going to try this.

    • Charlie
    • April 10th, 2011

    Joanna: I see over on your blog that only a few of your recipes are in English.
    I love the slavic recipes (I believe your polish??) I would love to see more that I could use.
    I hope you don’t think I am presumptuous but may I suggest something?
    Forgive me if I am over stepping myself.

    Over on the following link, sandeea has a couple of of links for translation. May she could advice you on this.

    Again I am sorry if I am overstepping myself.

    Charlie

    • Charlie
    • April 10th, 2011

    Hi! I have never had artichoke.

    I have heard though that you cut the top and suck out the pulp inside.

    Does this still apply when they are roasted?

    • If you mean what I think you mean, you can prepare the raw artchoke as I has described above, and eat the artichoke with a fork and knife, discarding any tough top parts. The inner stem, heart and bases of the bottom leaves are the tender parts.

  2. what a great side dish🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

