Brown Sugar Pecan Pizzelles


Growing up with an Italian grandmother, holidays always meant pizzelles would be included on a big cookie tray. Those Italian waffle-like cookies were flavored with anise, vanilla or sometimes cocoa.

My Italian pals may raise an eyebrow over this, but I wondered what the result would be if I switched the white sugar in the traditional recipe with brown sugar. And while I was tweaking the recipe, I decided to toss in some pecans that I ground in my food processor.

The result was better than I expected. Not as dry as the traditional recipe, the pecans toast as the cookies bake and give a butter-pecan flavor to the cookie. This experiment turned out far better than the year I decided to try to cook brownie batter in my pizzelle maker (bad idea-it ruined my pizzelle maker and I had to buy a new one).

Pizzelle makers are similar to waffle makers, and many waffle makers have reversible grids that produce breakfast waffles on one side and Italian pizzelles when flipped over. They are available in many kitchen supply departments and on-line everywhere.

Brown Sugar Pecan Pizzelles

½ cup salted butter, softened to room temperature
½ cup packed brown sugar
3 eggs
1 cup flour
½ cup finely ground pecans
½ tsp. vanilla
6 Tbsp. ice water

With an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar together. Whisk in the eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla.

Stir in the flour and ground pecans, mixing well. Add water until batter is the consistency of thick cream.

Preheat pizzelle maker according to the maker’s instructions. When hot, pour a scant ¼ cup of batter on each side (don’t worry if the first ones don’t come out as planned, the first ones rarely do.) Cook until lightly browned, watching closely since the pecans will brown quickly.

Repeat until all batter has been used. Makes about 2 dozen pizzelles.

  1. Yum! Sounds wonderful.

  2. would love to own one of these one day… just so I could make this delectable treat… it like southern influenced Italian…

  3. I LOVE pizzelles, and I think they’re one of the coolest things to experiment with. I love the idea of using brown sugar, I bet they turned out great!

  4. This Pizelle maker looks great. This looks delish

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

