The Butcher Block


The various Asian and Mexican markets in Vegas house some fine meat and seafood counters, but my on-going search for slab bacon lead me to the family owned Butcher Block on the southwest side of town.

I hit the jackpot. Not only did I find lovely applewood smoked slab bacon, I also found a source for dry aged prime beef, wagyu beef, Kurobuta heirloom breed pork and all manner of game (elk, venison, buffalo, gator, quail, partridge, rabbit, pheasant, turtle, rattlesnake, squab). Best of all, I found a source for one of my all time favorite ingredients, duck fat. Sold by the pound here, I’ll never have to worry about running out of the liquid gold I need to make duck fat roasted potatoes (if you haven’t cooked potatoes in duck fat, you are missing out on a little bit of heaven).

We spotted very fine looking crawfish and crabmeat in their seafood counter as well as a few specialty items we’ll be needing for our holiday entertaining in a well stocked freezer section. All of this is tucked in a bright, clean, easy to get to shop on South Rainbow.

Put the Butcher Block in your GPS…they also carry duck breast and foie gras!

The Butcher Block
7625 S Rainbow Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89139
(702)558-6328

Hours:
Monday-Saturday 10AM – 7PM
Sunday 12PM – 5PM
Website

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

