Mixed Berry Crumble


I love strawberries but get bored with strawberry shortcake and similar desserts using the berries raw. I’ve found that I like the taste and texture of strawberries that have been cooked, especially in pies, but when I don’t have time to fuss with pie crust, crumbles and fruit crisps are my next choice.

This fruit crumble goes together fast and can be doubled or tripled to feed a large crowd. During fruit season I make a large batch of the buttery crumb topping and freeze it in freezer bags (it‘s also the same streusel topping I use to top my muffins and banana bread). When I find a bargain on berries or other fruit it’s just a matter of putting the fruit in a baking dish, tossing a few handfuls of the topping over all and into the oven for a no-fuss fresh fruit dessert.

1 cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup packed light-brown sugar
¼ cup granulated sugar
½ cup finely chopped nuts
¼ teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons butter, room temperature
4-5 cups mixed berries (blueberries, sliced strawberries, raspberries, etc)
¼ cup cornstarch
1 cup granulated sugar

In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugars, and salt. Using a pastry blender or fork, cut in the butter until fine crumbs form, toss in the nuts. Using hands, squeeze together most of the mixture to form large clumps. Set aside.

In a bowl combine the berries, granulated sugar and corn starch, and mix to combine evenly. Pour into a lightly buttered 8 x 8 baking dish.

Sprinkle the crumb mixture over the berries and bake at 375 degrees F. for 40 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

  1. love it, the topping is just what the name implies isn’t it and makes the dish so wonderful … reminds me to get busy and make dessert

  2. I love crumbles. Yours look very delicious. I wish I have some now!

  3. oh yum this looks like its waiting for my french vanilla ice cream and chambord over it with would be a perfect dessert for me! yummmmmmmmmm

  4. I love berries! The crumble looks so awesome!

  5. Some very interesting information here, and a very interesting blog too.

    I will have to bookmark this and stop by more often.

    thanks.

  6. The strawberry season in Florida was delayed this year due to the unusual cold weather we’ve had. Just now getting to really enjoy this years harvest. I agree with you about the cooking of the berry. Really enhances the flavor profile.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

