Asparagus Pesto


With asparagus season right around the corner it’s time to take out some of my favorite recipes using my favorite vegetable. The following twist on classic Italian pesto is one of my favorite asparagus recipes. It can be used in any way traditional basil pesto can be used. I love this tossed with hot pasta or as a topping for bruschetta and grilled chicken or salmon. I also like to serve this as a dip with toasted pita triangles. This is quick, easy and can be made a day ahead.

1 lb fresh asparagus
1 cup grated parmesan cheese
½ cup chopped walnuts
1 bunch (about 2 cups) fresh Italian parsley leaves
½ teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
2 cloves garlic, mashed
½ cup olive oil
Salt to taste

Wash and peel bottoms of the asparagus. Cut each spear into 4 pieces. Bring a pan of water to a boil and add 1 teaspoon. Blanch the asparagus for one minute in the boiling water and drain. Drop the asparagus into a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking and keep the asparagus bright green. Remove from the ice water and drain well on paper towels.

When the asparagus is dry place into a bowl of a food processor along with the cheese, walnuts, parsley, lemon zest and garlic. Pulse until a rough paste has formed. Continue to process adding the olive oil slowly until the pesto is the desired consistency. A few drops of water can be added if too thick. Do not use an acid based liquid like lemon juice or wine vinegar or the green color of the pesto may darken unless added right before serving.

Remove from the food processor and place in a small bowl. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate till serving time. Makes about 2 ½ cups of pesto.

  1. Fantastic! I should really stop checking out the blogs right before lunch time…

  2. Like asparagus! In my city there are “asparagus selvatic”

  3. I don’t know why I have never thought about using asparagus in a pesto. What a great idea! I can’t wait to give it a try, especially while it is the season. Thanks!

  4. This looks fabulous!! I am definitely going to put it on my list of things to try.

    As I side note, I saw a comment you left in the forum on FB not long ago. You mentioned that you have found some sites that you really like to visit now and that are more efficient in following blogs you like. Do you mind sharing where you go? Thanks!

      • lvegas
      • April 10th, 2010

      Hello Shauna…Cook Eat Share http://cookeatshare.com/ was the site I had in mind when I left that comment. It’s a lot more interactive than FoodBuzz and has fewer issues. Seems like Foodbuzz is always experiencing one technical problem after another and is very slow to use.

  5. Hello,
    Asparagus Pesto is good recipe and your site is so beautiful.

  6. I post a similar recipe last week, Ill have to try yours!!YUM

  7. Sounds wonderful! A must try recipe.

  8. This looks unique and wonderful! I have tried artichoke pesto before…I can’t wait to try this one!!

  9. wow that is oozing with glorious color and flavors awesome..hope you had a nice palm sunday! 🙂

  10. so incredible – what a twist … I can think of so many things to use this on – can’t wait

  11. That looks absolutely delcious! YUM!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

