Tangerine Mousse


Tangerine Mousse

Tangerines are often overlooked in desserts. Sweeter and a little more mysterious than oranges, they can be substituted in any recipe using citrus. I love a tangerine meringue pie using tangerine juice instead of lemon. I also love the flavor and fragrance of tangerines in the following mousse recipe. This recipe, by the way, can be adapted to use any fruit; try it substituting pomegranate juice and pomegranate liqueur for the tangerine juice and orange liqueur called for in this version (blueberry also works well).

1 package unflavored gelatin
2 tablespoons Cointreau, Curacao or Grand Marnier
5 large eggs, separated
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons grated tangerine zest (orange part only)
1/4 cup lemon juice
2/3 cup tangerine juice
1 cup heavy cream

Dissolve the gelatin in three tablespoons warm water and add the Cointreau.

Place the egg yolks in a heavy saucepan and add the sugar, tangerine peel, gelatin mixture, lemon juice and tangerine juice. Mix well, using a wire whisk.

Place the saucepan over very low heat (you may also use a double boiler) and whisk gently until the mixture has thickened enough to coat a spoon. Do not overcook. Cool and place in a large mixing bowl.

Whip the cream until stiff.

Whip the egg whites until barely stiff (not too dry).

Fold the cream into the egg-tangerine mixture. Gently fold in the egg whites until barely blended.

Spoon or pipe the mousse into individual bowls or into a serving bowl. Chill overnight or for at least four hours. Garnish with crushed amaretto cookies or chopped mint.

Serves 4-6

    • j.R. MEKOSH
    • September 27th, 2010

    just getting to make this now and don’t see where you add the gelatin mixture

      • lvegas
      • September 27th, 2010

      Sorry about that, add it during the second step with the egg yolks, sugar and juices. The recipe is now edited with that info….thanks for pointing that out!

  1. Wow..I am going to make this!!
    I love Tangerines and so does my baby girls..

    • Terri
    • February 27th, 2010

    This sounds awesome!!! 🙂

  2. Wow this looks good! Anything citrus flavour gets my vote. And the idea of a tangerine meringue pie is just genius!

  3. I adore tangerines in desserts – always have been a tangerine fiend and this is utterly scrumptious. So scrumptious that it is in my near future.

  4. Kathy, great job on the mousse it looks so rich and delicious!

  5. Oh wow. This looks absolutely amazing. I want to dive into a bowlful right now!

  6. This looks amazing. I’m not a dessert person normally but I think I need to try it this weekend. about how many tangerine for 2/3’s cup?

      • lvegas
      • February 23rd, 2010

      It depends on the size of the tangerines but you should be able to get 2/3 cup of juice from 5 or 6 medium tangerines. If you are buying the smaller satsuma tangerines you might need 8. Tangerines are in season now and are a bargain this time of year.

  7. congrats on Top 9… beautiful!!

  8. Oh my! This looks so soft and juicy! Wonderful pic.

    • Nikki
    • February 23rd, 2010

    Oh my… This looks to die for!!!!🙂
    I love tangerines, and seeing this recipe makes me all the more motivated to go out and buy a hand mixer so that I can make this!!!!
    Great recipe, I can’t wait to try it!🙂

  9. I agree with you about tangerines – there flavor is quite special. I have been buying mandarines in the market in Siracusa, Sicily and making fresh juice with them and blood oranges. Yummmy

  10. another great one – satsumas are our specialty around here, isn’t a tangerine a satsuma? never thought about it before …a wonderful recipe that I will soon make…thanks

    • A satsuma tangerine is a small, seedless tangerine that you can eat in one mouthful. The season has just ended, here in Southern California. I make jam with mine!

      Best

      Kitty

    • foododelmundo
    • February 22nd, 2010

    GORGEOUS! You know- Sky High cakes does a lot of mousse type frostings for their cakes. I’ve found a whole new appreciation for them. ~Mary

  11. This mousse is fantastic! I would love to include it in my roundup for the 5 Star Makeover which is mousse this month! Please do let me know if you would like to submit it! http://www.fivestarfoodie.com/2010/02/5-star-makeover-mousse.html

  12. Ok I realize your from Las Vegas but this is the jackpot, we have so many tangerines here in Florida and this is over the top yum!!!! Cant wait to try this one! I know its going to be fantastic just by the ingredients thanks for giving me this recipe love it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

