Ham and Cabbage

Need a great way to deal with the leftover holiday ham that’s taking up valuable real estate in your refrigerator? This recipe starts by cooking the entire piece of leftover ham till it falls off the bone. When removed from the bone, the ham can be used in any number of recipes from scalloped potatoes & ham, bean soup or one of my favorites, ham, cabbage & potatoes. I freeze the portion of the broth I’m not using for this recipe for future use. It’s a valuable item to have on hand for future recipes.

Leftover ham (boneless or bone-in)
1 head green cabbage
1 large onion
3 medium red or Yukon Gold potatoes
½ cup chopped fresh parsley
coarse black pepper

Remove any large pieces of meat, but leave in large chunks. Place the meat and bone in a large Dutch oven and cover about half way with water. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat to simmer and cook covered for an hour or so or until the meat is very tender. You may also pressure cook the leftover ham for about 45 minutes using your pressure cooker’s instructions.

Remove the bone and meat from the pot. Reserve the broth by straining it into a bowl large enough to hold all the broth. Skim as much fat from the broth as possible and set aside.

Either shred or cube the cooked ham, cover and set aside.

Return 4 cups of the broth to a large pan. Freeze any extra ham broth for future use or add enough water (or half water/half beer) or unsalted chicken stock to equal 4 cups. While bring the broth to a boil slice the onion and cabbage into 1 inch slices and add them to the boiling ham stock. Lower heat to medium, and cook until the cabbage is tender, about 10 minutes. Cut the washed but unpeeled potatoes into large chunks and add to the pot. Cook until they become tender, add the ham back into the pot with the chopped parsley and heat through. Season with the black pepper.

Serve hot with hot biscuits or corn bread.

  1. Howdy, I really enjoyed this post. I’ve just started up a site and I’ve started somewhat varied content. Would you object if I write something about this article? Of course I will provide you and this post due credit and place a link to this page😀.

    • tastyeatsathome
    • December 28th, 2009

    Oh I would have loved this! I made a bean soup with my leftover ham and bone.

  2. you must have read my mind … I normally do a cabbage/potato dish with bacon but was thinking of ham….now I know I am gonna make this

  3. love this and have everything in the house except the cabbage going to try this one for sure some leftover ham here from yesterday and my next post…. lol this is one of my all time fav’s growing up even love the smell of this cooking its so awesome 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

