Duck Fat Roasted Potatoes

Pre-cooking these potatoes results in a golden brown crust. Choose whatever dried herbs compliments your main dish; rosemary, thyme, marjoram, tarragon and oregano work particularly well. This isn’t a fussy recipe; these potatoes can roast alongside whatever meat you are roasting at the same temperature. I’ve had perfect results roasting these at temperatures anywhere between 325 to 425 degrees.

This recipe would serve 4-6 people but can be easily adjusted to feed a crowd. They can also be roasted ahead and hold well staying crispy after roasting for a long time. Roast them in your choice of fat, but duck fat (if you’re lucky enough to have a stash in your freezer) will take these to a new level and produces a memorable, crusty roasted potato.

8 medium  red skinned or Yukon gold potatoes

4 tablespoons  duck fat, vegetable oil, butter or roast drippings

2 cloves garlic mashed

½ teaspoon coarse salt (kosher or sea salt work well)

½ teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon dried herbs

Microwave the potatoes to nearly cooked through. Set aside to cool completely before roasting (this can be done a day ahead).

Cut the cold, cooked potatoes into desired size chunks. Place the oil, garlic, herbs of choice, salt & pepper in a roasting pan  stir around to combine everything. Add the potato chunks and gently toss to coat them well with the herb mixture.

The potatoes can roast at the same temperature as your main dish. Roast, tossing once or twice during cooking to help brown all of the sides.  Depending on the temperature of your oven they should be brown and crisp in 45-60 minutes.

  1. I think I just found what I’ve been searching for. Gracias! Marking as a favorite this post for sure! Off to the store I go and I will let you know how this pans out!

  2. These potatoes would not be the same using vegetable oil, butter or roast drippings. Cheers to the duck fat!

  3. these sounds like little bites of heaven! love the idea of cooking them in duck fat!

  4. Duck Fat=Happiness!!! Yum. And huge congrats on the Top 9 honors.

  5. Congratulations on Top 9, and great job elevating the lowly potato!

    • farid
    • December 9th, 2009

    ياسلام على الروعة

    • Nana Helen
    • December 9th, 2009

    I have been saving fat from meats for the last few years and freezing it in teeny little prep bowls.The fat from Chicken, duck or goose is referred to as Schmaltz. It gives great flavor to food and from a sauteeing or roasting in fat point of view I see it as no different from using butter.I also occasionally save bacon drippings for the same reason. It’s all about flavor.

      • lvegas
      • December 9th, 2009

      I completely agree with you…I do the same thing. From a calorie point of view, all fat is the same so if I’m cooking with a fat I believe in using one that is going to add some flavor. We’ve all become so “fat phobic”. But cooking with natural fats (non-hydrogenated) in small amounts and in an otherwise healthy diet is not the demon it’s made out to be. It’s those hydrogenated fats we need to be frightened of.

    • dhaleb
    • December 9th, 2009

    My bf’s grandmother makes her own foie gras and we’ve managed to smuggle some in from our last trip to France (shhhh, don’t tell customs). We’ve reserved the duck fat from it because it’s SO good with potatoes. It’s sitting in our fridge and waiting for its destiny🙂. Thanks for sharing this recipe and congrats on Top 9!

  6. Congrats on Top 9!!!!!!! Number 1 awesome job with your beautiful potatoes!Way to go 🙂

  7. still out of duck fat – but I agree with an earlier comment – things taste better in lard or fat and the calories are similar – ps – had forgotten about hasselbacks from earlier cooking years but I cooked them a couple of weeks ago – thanks for reminding me…………..

    • tastyeatsathome
    • December 8th, 2009

    I love using duck fat. I think I need to buy another duck and render the fat just to use it for something like this again!

  8. I have never had duck, however these potatoes look fantastic, I cant imagine what the taste must be like, I love crisp and roasted potatoes these really look great… I usualy bake them in the oven with spices and breadcrumbs… garlic in these what a taste they must be awesome 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

