Potato and Green Onion Cakes

Potato and Green Onion Cakes 

Leftover mashed potatoes are reincarnated in this great side dish. These are so good you’ll make extra mashed potatoes on purpose. They’re very good served as an alternative to hash brown potatoes for breakfast. 

4 cups cold seasoned mashed potatoes

½ cup flour

¼ cup grated parmesan cheese

1 beaten egg

1 cup minced green onions

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoon vegetable oil 

Mix all of the ingredients except the butter and oil together, combining well. Form into 4-5 one inch patties and fry till golden brown in the butter and oil. Drain & serve hot. 

The cakes can be cooked ahead and frozen till needed. Just reheat in a toaster over at 350 degrees till heated through.

    • Paige
    • November 18th, 2013

    I know this is an older post, but I was looking for newer potato recipes and found this site. I tried this and loved it and then made it again with peas, carrots, and bits of chicken mixed in and served it with a lite chicken gravy, reminded me of chicken pot pie. Love it!

  1. These sound delicious! Into the “try this” book this goes.

    • lvegas
    • November 27th, 2009

    I like to serve any leftover roast with these. I slice whatever meat I had leftover (roast beef is my favorite) paper thin and reheat it briefly in leftover gravy with splash of sherry or red wine and serve it over the top of these. Will be doing this tomorrow with yesterday’s leftover rib roast…having your tetrazini tonight in about 30 minutes!!!

  2. Okay, I’m a total slut when it comes to potatoes. I have yet to come across a potato dish I didn’t like. Sad but true.

    So, this sounds like another great new addition to our Christmas Cocktail Party menu, especially since they can be frozen ahead of time. Thanks!

      • Shuggles
      • December 22nd, 2010

      ha ha ha ha I’m with you…I’m also a out-of-the-closet potato slut!! I ADORE potatoes!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

