Ricotta Walnut Tart

 

I’m resolved to cooking a turkey every year for sake of tradition, but it’s the side dishes and desserts (except pumpkin pie because I don’t care much for that) that make the Thanksgiving dinner I gladly prepare each year special to me. 

They can eat the turkey and pumpkin pie while I savor a piece (or two) of this wonderful dessert tart that I dress up when I make it again for Christmas by adding chopped candied orange peel

Ricotta Walnut Tart
1 cup walnut pieces
2/3 cup butter, room temperature
2/3 cup sugar
5 eggs, separated
finely grated rind of 1 orange
2/3 cup whole milk ricotta cheese, room temperature
6 tbsp flour
4 tbsp apricot jam
2 tbsp brandy
2oz  semi-sweet chocolate, shaved

Preheat the oven to 375F. Grease and line the bottom of a 9″ spring form pan.

Roughly chop and toast the walnuts in a dry sauté pan.  Set aside to cool. 

Cream together the butter and 1/2 cup of the sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg yolks, orange rind, ricotta cheese, flour and walnuts. Mix together.

Beat the egg whites in a large bowl until stiff. Gradually whisk in the remaining sugar. Fold a quarter of the egg whites into the ricotta mixture, then fold in the rest.

Turn the mixture into the prepared spring form pan and bake for about 30 minutes until risen and firm. Leave the cake to cool in the pan.

Transfer the cake to a serving plate and heat the apricot jam in a small saucepan with 1 tbsp water. Press through a sieve and stir in the brandy. Coat the top and sides of the cake with the brandy mixture. Top with chocolate shavings.

    • Denise
    • December 18th, 2009

    I agree. Walnuts are my favourite nut and I am always looking for something a bit different. This looks right up my alley.

  1. This looks lovely…I cant wait to try!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

