November: National Pomegranate Month

As far as I’m concerned pomegranates are one fruit that deserve an official month. There’s no fruit quite like it. One of the most difficult fruits to eat, almost a puzzle to open, pomegranates are sweet, tart, and jam packed with antioxidants. Once you get inside, they are also one of the most beautiful fruits on the planet.

pomegranate flower

Fresh pomegranate juice is now readily available in the produce section of most supermarkets these days but November is the beginning of pomegranate season in North America and I’m a sucker for bargains. I’ve found a reasonable way to extract my own pomegranate juice when I’m tempted by a bargain and find myself with a few fat specimens…once you get the seeds (called arils) out of the tough, almost prehistoric skin, place them in a large freezer bag, seal almost closed and roll over the bag repeatedly with a rolling pin till each seed has popped and released it’s juice. Pour the entire mess into a strainer over a bowl and smash with the back of a spoon until the seeds are as dry as you feel like dealing with. Voila! Fresh squeezed pomegranate juice. 

I’m sure there are more efficient methods, like juicers to accomplish this but when you are only faced with two or three pomegranates and have some time on your hands, this method works just fine. On the other hand, save yourself some time and just pick up a bottle of fresh pomegranate juice to make the delicious sauce for these lamb chops. The tartness of the juice is a perfect match for the flavor of lamb.

Lamb Chops With  Rosemary Pomegranate Sauce

redsauce

For 2 servings: 

4  thick loin lamb chops

1 large clove garlic

salt

pepper

1 teaspoon vegetable oil

 

Rub both sides of the chops with the cut side of the garlic clove. Season on both sides with salt & pepper. Drizzle oil over and turn to coat both sides well.

 

Preheat a broiler, BBQ grill or non-stick skillet to medium high. When hot add the chops and lower the heat to medium and cook for approx 4 minutes and turn. Cook for another 3-4 minutes or until medium rare.

 

Remove and keep warm while sauce is prepared. Chops will continue to cook slightly will resting.

 

Pomegranate Sauce:

 

1 cup pomegranate juice 
1 tablespoon  honey 
1/2 teaspoon finely minced fresh rosemary 

1 minced shallot
1  garlic clove, minced

1  tablespoon sherry vinegar 
3 tablespoons pomegranate liqueur (preferably PAMA)

1 tablespoon cold butter

salt to taste 

Add the rosemary to the juice and simmer to reduce by one half. Add the honey, garlic and shallot and gently simmer for a few minutes. 

Remove from heat and add the vinegar and pomegranate liqueur. Swirl in the butter just until melted off the heat. Pour over warm chops and serve.

    • Charlie
    • March 30th, 2011

    Hello Kathy! This is the first time I have seen your blog.

    Oh my goodness!
    These look wonderful and I am going to make them for supper tonight!!

    I can’t wait….. Lamb/Mutton is my all time favourite meat and I love pomegranate, so there is no going wrong.

    Thank you for sharing your recipe.

    Charlie

  1. Kathy, this is awesome! I wish I was there… haha…. hmm…mmm…

  2. I love this sauce with the lamb & can’t wait to try it! We buy our lamb chops from Sam’s & they are some of the best we’ve ever had & we didn’t always like lamb. Growing up, all we were ever exposed to was mutton, which I can smell a mile away & I can’t stand it. Too gamey for me!

    Hubby is going to be my slave as soon as I make this for him. He’s a total slut for sauces. This just might get me what I want for Christmas…

    • lvegas
    • November 8th, 2009

    Hiya Claudia….Try Costco or Sam’s Club for lamb. I picked up a fantastic boneless leg of lamb last week at Costco. I think this sauce would work very well for pork or turkey as well, and I don’t see why it couldn’t be doubled.

  3. OMG this looks fabulous, just made lamb last week, its lousy here in Florida, will have to see if I can order from somewhere on dry ice. I am diffinitely trying this. My grandmother used to eat the fruit all the time. Your picture is really beautiful…this is a wonderful recipe…cant wait to try this… I can get the leg of lamb and smoother this with it, just may not have turkey this year after seeing this one!

  4. very beutiful post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

