Full English Breakfast

Full English Breakfast

Full English Breakfast

When served my first “Full English”  I stared in disbelief at the baked beans. After downing the entire lot that was on my plate I understood the concept—it’s the perfect cure for too many pints from the night before. The Full English Breakfast (and no, I didn’t see any “half” English breakfasts), is served all over Britain and usually very reasonably priced. Except for the bacon (which is actually more like American ham) & sausage, the other ingredients are no big deal on their own and a couple of them are fairly miserable-the bland broiled tomatoes and the sautéed mushrooms, but served as a whole, it works! I will never ever understand the obligatory baked beans  or the fact that they must be Heinz Baked Beans.  This is one of the meals I miss the most when I remember trips to England. 

There’s no way to elegantly plate one of these. A Full English always has the following items all on the same plate: 

Eggs

British bacon

British sausage

Baked beans (Heinz)

Broiled tomato

Sautéed Mushrooms

Toast (or fried bread)

Optional items but worthy mention:

Fried grated potato patty

Blood pudding 

Condiments:

Ketchup (Heinz)

HP Sauce (steak sauce)

    • Amanda
    • March 28th, 2010

    Being English I can confirm that a TRUE full English usually has FRIED bread, not toast. There’s nowhere near enough lard otherwise🙂

      • lvegas
      • March 28th, 2010

      I lived and worked in England and more times than not it was toast… but preferred fried bread when given a choice. Nothing like a full English to sort one out after too many pints the night before. Brit lard rules!

    • lvegas
    • September 9th, 2009

    You’ll most often find this starting around closing time for the pubs until around noon. It’s not as goofy as it looks. And it’s VERY traditional grub in Britain.

    • Terri
    • September 9th, 2009

    Wow… I’d need to go back to bed after eating all that!

    I don’t know if I could do the beans for breakfast though…. How late do they usually serve this?? If it was 11 or so, I could probably do it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

