King Oyster Mushrooms


The produce departments in our local Las Vegas Asian grocery stores fascinate me. I’m always finding wonderful things I’ve never cooked before. These super-sized, chubby mushrooms with meaty, six inch stems recently caught my eye during one of my grocery trips to Korea Town. I’ve seen these many times before but this time I decided to grab a package of them to see what I could do with them.

The size of the mushrooms intrigued me, the four of them weighed in at nearly ¾ of a pound. Slicing them into small pieces seemed like a waste of their mass. If I wanted smaller mushrooms, I could just start with smaller ones. I decided to roast them whole, alongside a Sunday roast pork and I was thrilled with the results.

After about 60 minutes they were nicely browned on the outside and still firm to the touch. The interior was firm and meaty. The flavor was very pleasantly similar to porcini. They had taken on much of the flavor of the roast and were perfectly delicious simply sprinkled with a bit of coarse sea salt.

I can think of at least a half dozen ways I plan on using these monster mushrooms. They are begging to be the next victims of my panko breadcrumb obsession and fried to crispy perfection. They’ll definitely be dropped into a simmering pot of beef stew or brushed with garlic oil and grilled alongside a thick rib eye steak but the recipe I’m most anxious to try with them is in a batch of super rich, cream of mushroom soup, the dense stems sliced into thick coins.

    • John
    • December 1st, 2011

    Hi all, I stumbled on some King Oysters in our Aisian market in Lockhart

    FL and just sliced them and pan fried them in a little butter. Great

    tasteing mushroom. Will try other ways soon, will grill for sure.

    Nice website. Awesome pictures. Turns out these are really good for you

    too!

    • KIM
    • March 31st, 2011

    Your mushrooms look so amazing that im totally making it for dinner tonight!! In Korea, we usually slice and (very slightly) grill them with Korean BBQ(the surface is slightly brown and inside is chewy with strong mushroom scent!so yummy!) maybe you also should try it since these mushrooms perfectly match with meat flavour! :) Also, for me this recipe looks really really really!!interesting since I’ve never seen ppl(in korea) roast whole mushroom like the way you did. Your idea is so fresh and gave me a pleasant surprise! Im always amused by how western ppl twist and put their flavour into Asian ingrediants and of course the other way around too :) Panko things also sound so delish and I cant wait to see your further brilliant recipes with this mushroom. Thank you for sharing this! I do mean it! :)

    • Cheryl
    • March 31st, 2011

    Hi, I love mushrooms of all kinds, and those look really good.
    Stumbled in from tastespotting. I just bought a bag of these recently too. I was also thinking about panko-ing them, along with some eggplant, for Eggplant/Mushroom Parmesan. In my dreams, it sounds really yummy, but for some reason my brain seems to think it’s a waste of mushroom. Shut up brain!

    • I’ve been running the panko experiment through my head and I’m thinking I should just cut them in half lengthwise before breading them…if you happen to try it before I do, I’d love to hear (and see) how yours turn out! The eggplant/mushroon Parm sounds like a winner!

  1. have never seen these babies…. not sure I would know what to do but one thing I am clear about, I think you know how to make mushroom soup….LOL

    • Charlie
    • March 31st, 2011

    Hello! These look so very good!

    Thank you for sharing.

    You said about using them in mushroom soup (I hope homemade! Ok! Hit me with a wet noodle!)

    Add a bit of port to the soup. OH SO Good!
    OH and cook the mushrooms like this beforehand, and use the drippings (or some) in the soup!

    Let me know what you think.

    Thanks again!

  2. Good choice to roast them! When I cook with King Oysters I prefer to roast them or BBQ them… sometimes I even throw on a little BBQ sauce or Italian Seasoning….
    - Brittany

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 887 other followers

